A Book Review: The Fault In Our Stars

TFIOS

My favorite book of all the books I have read so far. As a matter of fact, I watched the film adaptation more than hundred times. And I have read this book for the third time, and still, it’s like I’ve been living along with Hazel and Gus all this time. Beautifully-written novel.

The story of Hazel Grace and Augustus Waters is so compelling because it is told in a way that isn’t disingenuous. These are two characters that behave, operate, and speak like real teenagers – who just happen to be facing insurmountable obstacles in their search for love and meaning in their short lives. Their reality of living their lives while actively dying, and still remaining optimistic and humorous is so compelling, and I was right there with them as they experienced all the universe had to offer them.

This was the only book I’ve ever read that had the power to make me cry. By the end of the book, I had actual tears falling; and while I wish I could go back and change the way the story ends for Hazel and Augustus, I also admire that Green had the guts to tell the story in such a heartbreakingly truthful way.

It made me LAUGH.
It made me SMILE.
It made me CRY. (I just can’t help crying.)

What an emotional roller coaster.

FIVE STARS ISN’T ENOUGH FOR THIS BOOK.

Check out my goodreads account: https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/65289498-mark-razo

Leave a Reply

